Loading Events
Now Playing

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Directed by Chang-dong Lee
2018, South Korea, 149 min
Korean with English subtitles

Widely regarded as a critical masterpiece, the South Korean entry for Best Foreign Language Film at the 91st Academy Awards, Burning won the FIPRESCI Critics Prize at last year’s Cannes Film Festival. A psychological thriller wrapped in layers of mystery, it boasts an ending as haunting as an incandescent sunset descending into shadowy dusk. Deliveryman and aspiring writer Jong-su runs into Haemi, who claims to be his childhood classmate. After seducing him, she scoots off to Africa, leaving him to feed her elusive cat. She returns with suave, well-heeled Ben, whose aura of privilege makes the farm boy roil with envy and self-pity. One day, Ben confides in a stoned haze that he has a secret fetish for burning down greenhouses. Soon after that, Haemi disappears, plunging Jong-su into a frenzy. – Vancouver International Film Festival

Reviews

A powerful social message and bewitching lyricism...It is an odyssey to the heart of uncertainty and it will haunt you long after the credits have rolled.
- Festival du Nouveau Cinema
A haunting, beautiful tone poem.
- Eric Kohn, IndieWIRE 
« June 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Tue 25

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 25

Shoot Some 16mm Film

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. June 1, 2019 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Black Lodge Studio)

Shooting Days: June 3 – July 13, 2019

Processing Day: Sat. July 13 & Sun. July 14 – 10 AM – 2 PM (WFG Media Lab and Platform Dark Room)

Optical Printer Class: Sat. July 20 | 10am - 2pm

Editing: July – August

Screening Date: TBD
Tue 25

Animation School: A 5 week intensive crash course on Animation!***SOLD OUT!

WFG Black Lodge & WFG Media Lab| June 8, 15, 22, 29 & July 6
Tue 25

Restoration Tuesdays: True Stories (New 4K Restoration)

Tue, June 4 / 9 pm
Tue, June 11 / 7 pm
Tue, June 18 / 9 pm
Tue, June 25 / 7 pm
Tue 25

Restoration Tuesdays: Amazing Grace

Tue, June 4 / 7 pm
Tue, June 11 / 9 pm
Tue, June 18 / 7 pm
Tue, June 25 / 9 pm

EXTRA SHOWS ADDED!
Sun, June 23 / 1 pm
Mon,June 24 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact