Loading Events

Cabin Fever: The Last Starfighter

Sun, Jan 27 / 3 pm
Directed by Nick Castle
1984, USA, 101 min

There will be will be free stop motion animation workshop offered by Art City one hour prior to the film.

Alex Rogan finds himself transported to another planet after conquering a video game, discovering that it was just a test to recruit him to a team of starfighters defending their world from the attack.


What started as a dream in 2005 has blossomed into a rite of passage for parents and their kids. They can shake the snow off their boots and spend an afternoon at the movies every Sunday all through January and February thanks to the generous support of the Assiniboine Credit Union. Due to the popularity of this series it is our desire that parents and their kids be seated before all others. Thanks for your understanding.

We acknowledge the continued and generous support of the Assiniboine Credit Union.

Reviews

With The Last Starfighter, director Nick Castle and writer Jonathan Betuel have done something so simple it’s almost awe-inspiring: they’ve taken a very human story and accented it with sci-fi special effects, rather than the other way around.
- Variety
« January 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Fri 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 18

Jean-Pierre Melville: Le doulos

Fri, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 3 pm
Fri 18

Canada’s Top Ten: Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

Sat, Jan 5 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 6 / 5 pm
Fri, Jan 11 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 12 / 7:15 pm
Sun, Jan 13 / 5 pm
Thu, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Sat 19

The Great Buster

Sat, Jan 19 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jan 20 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 25 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 3 / 5 pm
Sat 19

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact