Loading Events
Now Playing

Fail to Appear

Thu & Fri, Sept 13 & 14 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 16 / 3 pm
Directed by Antoine Bourges
2017, Canada, 70 min

In 2012 Antoine Bourges created an extraordinary short film called East Hastings Pharmacy in which he recreated the comings and goings at a small pharmacy located on one of Canada’s most difficult neighborhoods, Vancouver’s East Hastings. In his debut feature,  Deragh Campbell (Never Eat Alone) stars as Isolde, a support caseworker trainee working in Toronto. She’s still adjusting to the challenges of her job when she’s assigned to Eric (Nathan Roder), a man charged with theft and awaiting a court hearing. As Isolde prepares for the hearing, she finds herself struggling with the paucity of resources. Fail to Appear is a moving portrayal of those who quietly fall through the cracks in society and the few people trying to help them.

Reviews

Four stars. A very simple film that builds a surprising power and lingers long after you leave the theatre.
- Norman Wilner, NOW
A quiet gem that draws the viewer in from its opening frame...viewers will find it hard to shake.
- Marsha Lederman, Globe and Mail
« Sep 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Sun 23

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography **SOLD OUT**

Every Wednesday: Sept 5, 12th, 19th, 26th & Oct 3 | 7pm – 10pm
Sun 23

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Sun 23

Camera School: An Intensive Crash Course in Cinematography II **NEW SESSION ADDED** ** SOLD OUT**

WFG Black Lodge | Thursday: Sept 13, 20th, 27th & Wednesday: Oct 10 & 17 | 7pm – 10pm
Sun 23

Infinite Cycle Collaborative Animation with Amy Lockhart

Session 1: WFG Black Lodge & WFG Media Lab | Sunday September 23 | 10am - 2pm
Session 2: WFG Black Lodge & WFG Media Lab | Sunday September 23 | 2:30pm - 6:30pm
Sun 23

The Invisible Heart

Sun, Sept 23 / 7 pm
Wed, Sept 26 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 27 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 29 / 5 pm
Sun, Sept 30 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location
We’re located across the street from Old Market Square, on the 3rd floor of the Artspace building (just upstairs from our Cinematheque) at 100 Arthur Street at Bannatyne - one block west of Main Contact Us
contact