Loading Events
Now Playing

Filmworker

Wed & Thu, Nov 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Fri, Nov 9 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 5 pm
Sun , Nov 11 / 3 pm
Wed & Thu, Nov 14 & 15 / 7 pm
Directed by Tony Zierra
2018, USA, 94 min

Leon Vitali was a rising British television actor when Stanley Kubrick picked him for the role of Lord Bullingdon in Barry Lyndon. That first encounter with the famed auteur proved decisive — he swiftly resolved to devote the rest of his life working for the director, this time behind the scenes, and took on just about every job available: casting director, acting coach, location scout, sound engineer, color corrector, assistant director, promoter, and eventually restorer of Kubrick’s films. Tony Zierra’s affecting documentary profiles the devoted “filmworker” — Vitali’s preferred job title — as he enthusiastically recounts his days with the notoriously meticulous, volatile and obsessive director. The experiences brought both tremendous sacrifice and glowing pride. Filmworker celebrates the invisible hands that shape masterpieces, reminding us that behind every great director, there is a Leon Vitali. -Telluride Film Festival

Reviews

Five stars! Tender. A revealing and stirring celebration of one of cinema’s unacknowledged heroes.
– Gwilym Mumford, The Guardian
« January 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
Fri 18

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Fri 18

Jean-Pierre Melville: Le doulos

Fri, Jan 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 26 / 3 pm
Fri 18

Canada’s Top Ten: Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

Sat, Jan 5 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Jan 6 / 5 pm
Fri, Jan 11 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 12 / 7:15 pm
Sun, Jan 13 / 5 pm
Thu, Jan 17 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 18 / 9 pm
Sat, Jan 19 / 5 pm
Sat 19

The Great Buster

Sat, Jan 19 / 3 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Jan 20 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 23 / 7 pm
Fri, Jan 25 / 7 pm
Sun, Feb 3 / 5 pm
Sat 19

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact