Loading Events
Now Playing

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (CC)

Sat, Sept 1 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Sept 2 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Sept 7 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 8 / 3 pm
Sun, Sept 9 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 7 pm

ADDED SHOWS!
Wed, Sept 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 15 / 1 pm
Directed by Morgan Neville
2018, USA, 94 min

“I like you just the way you are.” With this phrase, Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood introduced generations of American children to the genial,soft-spoken man who became a father figure to many thanks to his open, compassionate communication. Fred Rogers’s heartfelt words of wisdom helped children deal with complex social issues including death and discrimination.Approaching challenging topics with honesty and warmth, for fifty years he dedicated himself to meeting the needs of children. Oscar winning director Morgan Neville has crafted a remarkably resonant film wonderfully illustrated with clips from the show, striking animation and interviews with many people who worked with, loved and were influenced by Fred Rogers.

(Closed Captioning available)

***Mr. Rogers Contest time! Order tickets online to the first 3 screenings of Won’t You Be My Neighbor? on September 1st and 2nd at Cinematheque and be entered in a draw where you could win the movie’s poster, a Ten Show Pass, a Two Headed Monster Combo (2 admissions, 2 popcorn and drink), and free passes!

Only one entry per person.

Reviews

Fred Rogers is gone and the world is a much scarier place; this film, like a gift, briefly transports us back to the calm we felt long ago.
- Moira MacDonald, Seattle Times
« Nov 2018 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
Sun 18

Shoot Some 16mm – A 16mm Film Workshop

Camera Orientation Day: Sat. Sept 8, 2018 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Shooting Days: Sept 10 - Oct 19, 2018
Processing Day: Sat. Oct 20 & Sun. Oct 21 - 10 AM - 2 PM
Editing: Oct 22 - Dec 5, 2017
Screening Date: TBD
Sun 18

2018 Fall Basic Filmmaking Class **SOLD OUT**

October 9, 2018 - November 25, 2018
Sun 18

2018 Creative Crew Workshops Series for Women – Camera in Documentary Film

Saturday November 17 & Sunday November 18 | 12pm - 6pm
Sun 18

Madeline’s Madeline

Thu, Nov 8 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 10 / 9 pm
Sun, Nov 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 15 / 9 pm
Fri, Nov 16 / 7 pm
Sat, Nov 17 / 3 pm
Sun, Nov 18 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun 18

Mandy

Fri, Nov 16 / 9 pm
Sat, Nov 17 / 9:30 pm
Sun, Nov 18 / 7 pm
Thu, Nov 22 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 1 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact