New World Documentaries

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

New World Documentaries
The Woman Who Loves Giraffes
Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
In 1956, four years before Jane Goodall ventured into the world of chimpanzees and seven years before Dian Fossey left to work with mountain gorillas, 23-year-old Canadian biologist, Anne Innis Dagg, made an unprecedented solo journey to South Africa to become the first person in the world to study animal behaviour in the wild on that continent. In this remarkable film we learn about her pioneering research on giraffes as well as the appalling way she was treated in her struggle for recognition in the academic world.

Architecture+Design Film Fest: City Dreamers (Rêveuses de villes)

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Architecture+Design Film Fest: City Dreamers (Rêveuses de villes)
Wed, May 1 / 7 pm
A film about four forward-looking architects, women who have helped shape our cities.

Architecture+Design Film Fest: Bonne Maman et Le Corbusier

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Architecture+Design Film Fest: Bonne Maman et Le Corbusier
Wed, May 1 / 9:30 pm
After her grandmother’s apartment in Unité d’Habitation went up in flames, filmmaker Marjolaine Normier documented the process of its reconstruction in line with Le Corbusier’s exacting standards and specifications.

Architecture+Design Film Fest: An Engineer Imagines

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Architecture+Design Film Fest: An Engineer Imagines
Thu, May 2 / 7 pm
A bold cinematic portrait of the influential engineer Peter Rice, who has a global reputation as one of the most important engineers of the 20th Century.

Architecture+Design Film Fest: Leaning Out – An Intimate Look at Twin Towers Engineer Leslie E Robertson

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Architecture+Design Film Fest: Leaning Out – An Intimate Look at Twin Towers Engineer Leslie E Robertson
Thu, May 2 / 9 pm
This is the story of Leslie Robertson, the lead structural engineer of the World Trade Centre, a man who oversaw the construction of the tallest building on the planet at the time, and is haunted by its collapse and the events of 9/11.
« April 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Thu 18

The Woman Who Loves Giraffes

Sat, Apr 6 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Sun, Apr 7 / 3 pm
Fri, Apr 12 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Apr 13 & 14 / 5 pm & 7 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 3 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 3 pm & 5 pm
Thu 18

The House That Jack Built

Wed, Apr 10 / 9:30 pm
Thu & Fri, Apr 11 & 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 13 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 14 / 2 pm
Thu, Apr 18 / 9 pm
Fri 19

Burning (Beoning)

Wed, Apr 17 / 8:30 pm
Fri, Apr 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Apr 20 / 5 pm
Sun, Apr 21 / 7 pm
Wed & Thu, Apr 24 & 25 / 7 pm
Fri, Apr 26 / 9 pm
Sat, Apr 27 / 2 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Apr 28 / 2 pm
Tue 23

Restoration Tuesdays: Rocco and His Brothers

Tue, Apr 2 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 9 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 16 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 23 / 7 pm
Tue, Apr 30 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact