• Screening the very best in
    Canadian and World Cinema

UPCOMING
  • Restoration Tuesdays: War and Peace
    Restoration Tuesdays: War and Peace
    Part I: Andrei Bolkonsky (147 min w/ brief intermission)
    Tue, Sept 3 / 1 pm & 7 pm
    Tue, Sept 17 / 1 pm & 7 pm
    Sun, Sept 29 / 12 pm
    ___________________________________
    Part II: Natasha Rostova (98 min)
    Tue, Sept 3 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
    Tue, Sept 17 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
    Sun, Sept 29 / 3 pm
    ___________________________________
    Part III: The Year 1812 (81 min)
    Tue, Sept 10 / 1 pm & 7 pm
    Tue, Sept 24 / 1 pm & 7 pm
    Sun, Sept 29 / 6 pm
    ___________________________________
    Part IV: Pierre Bezukhov (96 min)
    Tue, Sept 10 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
    Tue, Sept 24 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
    Sun, Sept 29 / 8:30 pm
    At the height of the Cold War, the Soviet film industry set out to prove it could outdo Hollywood with a production that would dazzle the world: a titanic, awe-inspiring adaptation of Tolstoy’s classic tome in which the fates of three souls. Employing a cast of thousands and an array of innovative camera techniques, Ukrainian director Sergei Bondarchuk conjures a sweeping vision of grand balls that glitter with rococo beauty and breathtaking battles that overwhelm with their expressionistic power. This new 2 K restoration of a film that garnered the Academy Award for best foreign-language film set a new standard for epic moviemaking. A must see!
  • Asako I & II
    Asako I & II
    Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
    Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
    Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
    Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
    Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
    Sat & Sun, Sept 28 & 29 / 3 pm
    A mysterious and intoxicating pop romance, Ryûsuke Hamaguchi’s follow-up to the acclaimed Happy Hour begins with Asako, a young woman who meets and falls in love with a drifter, Baku, who one day vanishes right out of her life.
  • Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love
    Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love
    Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
    Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
    Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
    Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
    Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9 pm
    Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
    The beautiful, enduring love story between legendary folk singer Leonard Cohen and his Norwegian muse Marianne Ihlen is explored in this film. Never-before-seen footage shot by Nick Broomfield and the late legendary documentarian D. A. Pennebaker make for a unique portrait of an idyllic 1960’s bohemia. It was a time that left a lasting imprint on both Marianne and Leonard, whose friendship would last another fifty years before their deaths in 2016.
CINEMATHEQUE