Loading Events
Now Playing

Cryptozoo

Fri, Oct 1 / 8:55pm
Sat, Oct 2 / 2:30pm & 6:55pm
Tue, Oct 5 / 9:15pm
Tue, Oct 12 / 7pm
Wed, Oct 13 / 9:15pm
Thur, Oct 14 / 7pm
Thur, Oct 21 / 7 pm
Directed by Dash Shaw
2021, USA, 95 min

Visionary comic book writer/artist/filmmaker Dash Shaw’s vibrant, fantastical animated feature follows cryptozookeepers through a richly-drawn hallucinatory world as they struggle to capture a baku (a legendary dream-eating hybrid creature) and begin to wonder if they should display these rare beasts in the confines of a zoo, or if these mythical creatures should remain hidden and unknown.

Featuring the voice talents of Lake Bell, Zoe Kazan, Michael Cera, Louisa Krause, Peter Stormare, Thomas Jay Ryan, Grace Zabriskie and Angeliki Papoulia, Cryptozoo is written and directed by Shaw, with Jane Samborski directing the stunning animation.

« October 2021 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Mon 25

Dave Barber’s Birthday Bash

Tue, Oct 26 / 7pm
Mon 25

Dave Barber’s Birthday Bash

Tue, Oct 26 / 7pm
Live online screening
Mon 25

Dave’s Faves: Speedy

Tue, Oct 26 / 9:30pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 9:15pm
Fri, Oct 29 / 6:30pm
Sun, Oct 31 / 5pm
Tue, Nov 2 / 9:30pm
Wed, Nov 3 / 7pm
Mon 25

Fanny: The Right to Rock

Fri, Oct 15 / 7pm
Tue, Oct 19 / 7pm
Wed, Oct 20 / 9:30pm
Sat, Oct 23 / 2:15pm & 9:30pm
Sun, Oct 24 / 5pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 7pm
Thur, Oct 28 / 9:30pm
Mon 25

Dave’s Faves: Speedy

Tue, Oct 26 / 9:30pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 9:15pm
Fri, Oct 29 / 6:30pm
Sun, Oct 31 / 5pm
Tue, Nov 2 / 9:30pm
Wed, Nov 3 / 7pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact