Loading Events
Now Playing

Dave’s Faves: Speedy

Tue, Oct 26 / 9:30pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 9:15pm
Fri, Oct 29 / 6:30pm
Sun, Oct 31 / 5pm
Tue, Nov 2 / 9:30pm
Wed, Nov 3 / 7pm
Directed by Ted Wilde
1928, USA, 86 min

Speedy was the last silent feature to star Harold Lloyd—and one of his very best. The slapstick legend reprises his “Glasses Character,” this time as a good-natured but scatterbrained New Yorker who can’t keep a job. He finally finds his true calling when he becomes determined to help save the city’s last horse-drawn streetcar, which is operated by his sweetheart’s crusty grandfather. From its joyous visit to Coney Island to its incredible Babe Ruth cameo to its hair-raising climactic stunts on the city’s streets, Speedy is an out-of-control love letter to New York that will have you grinning from ear to ear.

Reviews

Lloyd just wanted to have fun, and Speedy has it in spades.
– Matthew Lucas, From the Front Row
Hugely entertaining, if not Lloyd at the peak of his powers.
– Ben Nicholson, CineVue
« November 2021 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 29

Mogul Mowgli

Available to rent for $9.99
November 2 - December 3
Mon 29

Portraits From a Fire

Available to rent for $9.99
November 12 - Dec 12
Mon 29

Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy

Available to rent for $9.99
November 15 - December 19
Wed 01

Best of Gimli Film Festival: Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy

Fri, Nov 19 / 6:30pm
Sat, Nov 20 / 2pm
Sun, Nov 21 / 7:20pm
Wed, Nov 24 / 6:30pm
Thu, Nov 25 / 9:15pm
Sat, Nov 27 / 4:15pm
Sun, Nov 28 / 2pm
Tue, Nov 30 / 6:30pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact