Loading Events
Now Playing

Fanny: The Right to Rock

Fri, Oct 15 / 7pm
Tue, Oct 19 / 7pm
Wed, Oct 20 / 9:30pm
Sat, Oct 23 / 2:15pm & 9:30pm
Sun, Oct 24 / 5pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 7pm
Thur, Oct 28 / 9:30pm
Directed by Bobbi Jo Hart
2021, Canada, 96 min

Sometime in the 1960s, in sunny Sacramento, two Filipina-American sisters got together to play music. Little did they know their garage rock band would evolve into the legendary Fanny, the first all-woman band to release an LP with a major record label. Despite recording a handful of albums and amassing a dedicated fan base that included music legend David Bowie, the band all but disappeared from the records of music history. This documentary not only tells the story of the band’s rocking past, but also documents its next chapter: now in their 60s, the bandmates are recording a new album. The film includes interviews with a large cadre of music icons, including Bonnie Raitt, Def Leppard’s Joe Elliott and the Go-Go’s Kathy Valentine. Fighting early barriers of race, gender and sexuality in the music industry, the women of Fanny are ready to take their place in the halls of rock ‘n’ roll fame.  –  Aisha Jamal, Hot Docs International Documentary Festival

Reviews

thoroughly engaging thanks to the demonstrable talent and brassy forthrightness of its central personalities.
– Dennis Harvey, Variety
History is written by the victors […] So feisty women — especially women of color and those in the LBGTQ community — must take the reins to help rewrite the history that has excluded them.
– Bobbi Jo Hart, director of Fanny: The Right to Rock
« November 2021 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
Mon 29

Mogul Mowgli

Available to rent for $9.99
November 2 - December 3
Mon 29

Portraits From a Fire

Available to rent for $9.99
November 12 - Dec 12
Mon 29

Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy

Available to rent for $9.99
November 15 - December 19
Wed 01

Best of Gimli Film Festival: Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy

Fri, Nov 19 / 6:30pm
Sat, Nov 20 / 2pm
Sun, Nov 21 / 7:20pm
Wed, Nov 24 / 6:30pm
Thu, Nov 25 / 9:15pm
Sat, Nov 27 / 4:15pm
Sun, Nov 28 / 2pm
Tue, Nov 30 / 6:30pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact