Loading Events
Now Playing

Hinterland Remixed: Media, Memory, and the Canadian 1970s Book Launch and screening

Thu, Jan 16 / 7 pm
Introduced by Andrew Burke

Join us for the launch of Hinterland Remixed: Media, Memory, and the Canadian 1970s (McGill-Queen’s University Press). Author Andrew Burke will screen some classic Hinterland Who’s Who spots alongside other 70s oddities and provide a brief overview of why the 1970s film and television looms so large in Canadian cultural memory. Andrew Burke is an associate professor in the Department of English at the University of Winnipeg where he teaches screen and cultural studies.

« August 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Sat 15

First Cow

Fri, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 15 / 8:45 pm
Fri, Aug 21 / 6 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 3 pm
Sat 15

Meek’s Cutoff

Sat, Aug 15 / 3 pm
Tue, Aug 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 8:30 pm
Sun 16

River of Grass

Sat, Aug 15 / 6:15 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 6 pm
Sun 16

Wendy and Lucy

Sun, Aug 16 / 3 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 6 pm
Tue, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Sun 16

Old Joy

Sun, Aug 16 / 5:30 pm
Thu, Aug 20 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact