Loading Events
Now Playing

Pain & Glory

Thu Dec 5 / 7 pm
Fri, Dec 6 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 7 / 5 pm & 7:15 pm
Sun, Dec 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Dec 11 / 7 pm
Thu, Dec 12 / 9 pm
Sat, Dec 14 / 7 pm
Sun, Dec 15 / 2 pm
Directed by Pedro Almodóvar
2019, Spain, 113 min
Spanish with English subtitles

A revival screening of his controversial classic reunites filmmaker Salvador (Antonio Banderas) with the film’s star, Alberto, a longtime junkie. Alberto lures Salvador into seeking solace in opiates, and reminds him of a script he abandoned long ago, opening up a flood of old acquaintances and vivid memories, involving his beloved mother (Penélope Cruz) and an old flame ravaged by addiction.

 

Reviews

A sensuous and deeply personal gem. Almodóvar has made a film about pleasure, which is itself a pleasure: witty, intelligent and sensuous. It is about love, memory, art, mothers, lovers. Cinematographer José Luis Alcane and production designer Antxón Gómez give the film a wonderful richness and warmth, the colours swarming and popping.
- Peter Bradshaw The Guardian
« September 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
Thu 24

Epicentro

Available to rent until October 19
Thu 24

You Cannot Kill David Arquette

Available to rent until October 19
Fri 25

Eraserhead (4K Restoration)

Tue, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 26 / 9 pm
Sun, Sept 27 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 30 / 9:15 pm
Fri 25

The Short Films of David Lynch (4K Restoration)

Sun, Sept 20 / 2:30 pm
Wed, Sept 23 / 7 pm
Thu, Sept 24 / 9:30 pm
Sat 26

Kuessipan

Fri, Sept 25 / 6:30 pm
Sat, Sept 26 / 6:15 pm
Sun, Sept 27 / 2 pm & 4:45 pm
Tue & Wed, Sept 29 & 30 / 6:30 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact