Loading Events
Now Playing

Possession (New Restoration)

Fri, Oct 15 / 9:15pm
Sat, Oct 16 / 9:10pm
Sun, Oct 17 / 9pm
Wed, Oct 20 / 6:45pm
Thur, Oct 21 / 9:15pm
Fri, Oct 22 / 9:10pm
Sun, Oct 24 / 7:15pm
Thur, Oct 28 / 6:45pm
Directed by Andrzej Zulawski
1981, France/West Germany, 124 min
English, French & German with English subtitles
New 4K Restoration

Banned upon its original release in 1981, Andrzej Żuławski’s stunningly choreographed nightmare of a marriage unraveling is an experience unlike any other. Professional spy Mark (Sam Neill) returns to his West Berlin home to find his wife Anna (Isabelle Adjani, in a role that earned her Best Actress at Cannes) insistent on a divorce. As Anna’s frenzied behavior becomes ever more alarming, Mark discovers a truth far more sinister than his wildest suspicions. With its pulsating score, visceral imagery, and some of the most haunting performances ever captured on screen, Possession is cinematic delirium at its most intoxicating. Adjani won a César for her performance, one of the most grueling ever caught on films, though later reflected that the palpable ordeal she put herself through on the movie was nearly enough to make her leave acting behind.

Reviews

Stark, exhilarating and utterly lacking in compromise, Andrzej Zulawski's film is an emotionally brutal watch.
– Naila Scargill, Exquisite Terror
Possession is like nothing else - an uncompromising and idiosyncratic vision of the divisions that exist around, between and within us all.
– Anton Bitel, Little White Lies
In much the same way that Possession blurs and blends genres, it also inextricably entangles the personal and the political.
– Budd Wilkins, Slant Magazine
« October 2021 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Mon 25

Dave Barber’s Birthday Bash

Tue, Oct 26 / 7pm
Mon 25

Dave Barber’s Birthday Bash

Tue, Oct 26 / 7pm
Live online screening
Mon 25

Dave’s Faves: Speedy

Tue, Oct 26 / 9:30pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 9:15pm
Fri, Oct 29 / 6:30pm
Sun, Oct 31 / 5pm
Tue, Nov 2 / 9:30pm
Wed, Nov 3 / 7pm
Mon 25

Fanny: The Right to Rock

Fri, Oct 15 / 7pm
Tue, Oct 19 / 7pm
Wed, Oct 20 / 9:30pm
Sat, Oct 23 / 2:15pm & 9:30pm
Sun, Oct 24 / 5pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 7pm
Thur, Oct 28 / 9:30pm
Mon 25

Dave’s Faves: Speedy

Tue, Oct 26 / 9:30pm
Wed, Oct 27 / 9:15pm
Fri, Oct 29 / 6:30pm
Sun, Oct 31 / 5pm
Tue, Nov 2 / 9:30pm
Wed, Nov 3 / 7pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact