Loading Events
Now Playing

Restoration Tuesdays: Amazing Grace

Tue, June 4 / 7 pm
Tue, June 11 / 9 pm
Tue, June 18 / 7 pm
Tue, June 25 / 9 pm

EXTRA SHOWS ADDED!
Sun, June 23 / 1 pm
Mon,June 24 / 7 pm
Directed by Sidney Pollack & Alan Elliot
2018, USA, 87 min

In 1972, Sydney Pollack was hired to film the making of Aretha Franklin’s live album Amazing Grace, as she performed with a full gospel choir over two consecutive nights at the New Temple Missionary Baptist Church in Los Angeles. The concert film was intended to be released alongside the album, but technical issues and contract battles put the film on the shelf. Nearly 50 years later, Alan Elliot has put all that footage together here in this essential document that showcases the legend at her absolute peak.

Restoration Tuesdays: our new ongoing series of newly restored films is generously sponsored by IATSE 856. All admissions to these screenings is $5.  Amazing Grace is also a special presentation with the TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival and Brian Wolfe, RE/MAX Professionals. 

       

Reviews

Amazing Grace is a rousing performance lensed with simple, raw, intimate filmmaking that’s unforgettable and nourishing for the soul.
– John Fink, The Film Stage
A movie worth seeing and re-seeing and re-seeing again, a testament to the Queen of Soul at the height of her powers, live, in full color, in rich sound, resplendent.
– Dan Callahan, The Wrap
« September 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Tue 17

Restoration Tuesdays: War and Peace

Part I: Andrei Bolkonsky (147 min w/ brief intermission)
Tue, Sept 3 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Tue, Sept 17 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 12 pm
___________________________________
Part II: Natasha Rostova (98 min)
Tue, Sept 3 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Tue, Sept 17 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 3 pm
___________________________________
Part III: The Year 1812 (81 min)
Tue, Sept 10 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Tue, Sept 24 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 6 pm
___________________________________
Part IV: Pierre Bezukhov (96 min)
Tue, Sept 10 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Tue, Sept 24 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 8:30 pm
Tue 17

Safer Sets: A guide to creating a safe, positive space

September 18 (7-10PM) | WFG Black Lodge
Tue 17

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Sept 28 & 29 / 3 pm
Tue 17

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Tue 17

Running Water 3D

Thu, Sept 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 7:30 pm 

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact