Loading Events
Now Playing

The Farewell

Thu, Dec 26 / 5 pm
Fri & Sat, Dec 27 & 28 / 9 pm
Sun, Dec 29 / 5 pm
Directed by Lulu Wang
2019, USA, 98 min
Mandarin, Japanese, Italian and English with subtitles

Billi’s (Awkwafina) family returns to China for a fake wedding to stealthily say goodbye to their beloved matriarch, the only person who doesn’t know she has only weeks to live. As Billi navigates a minefield of family expectations and proprieties, she finds lots to celebrate: a chance to rediscover the country she left as a child, her grandmother’s wondrous spirit, and the ties bind even when much goes unspoken.

Reviews

There’s something special about The Farewell. Bittersweet, touching and always funny.
-Dan Mecca, The Film Stage
« August 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Sat 15

First Cow

Fri, Aug 14 / 7 pm
Sat, Aug 15 / 8:45 pm
Fri, Aug 21 / 6 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 3 pm
Sat 15

Meek’s Cutoff

Sat, Aug 15 / 3 pm
Tue, Aug 18 / 7 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 8:30 pm
Sun 16

River of Grass

Sat, Aug 15 / 6:15 pm
Sun, Aug 23 / 6 pm
Sun 16

Wendy and Lucy

Sun, Aug 16 / 3 pm
Sat, Aug 22 / 6 pm
Tue, Aug 25 / 7 pm
Sun 16

Old Joy

Sun, Aug 16 / 5:30 pm
Thu, Aug 20 / 9 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact