Loading Events
Now Playing

The Souvenir

Wed, Sept 4 / 9 pm
Thu, Sept 5 / 7 pm
Sat & Sun, Sept 7 & 8 / 7 pm
Wed, Sept 11 / 9 pm
Fri, Sept 13 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Sept 14 & 15 / 5 pm
Directed by Joanna Hogg
2018, UK, 115 min

Winner of the Grand Jury Prize at Sundance. Joanna Hogg’s dream-like, visually splendid tale of first love stars Honor Swinton Byrne alongside her mother, Tilda Swinton, and Tom Burke. Based on elements from Hogg’s own life, The Souvenir centres around Julie (Swinton Byrne), a 1980s film student from a privileged background who wishes to make films depicting the harsh social realities of Thatcherite Britain. Into her life comes Anthony (Tom Burke), who’s older and charismatic. Following a chance meeting, the two embark on a tempestuous love affair. The result is a film of great power and unforgettable imagery, perfectly capturing the social milieu, and all the euphoria of first love and it’s accompanying harsh realizations. – Syndey Film Festival

Reviews

Gorgeous and deeply felt. A piercingly realized and richly affecting memoir of lost love.
- Richard Lawson, Vanity Fair
An illuminating (self-)portrait of a young artist as well as a mesmerizing chronicle of a consuming, destructive relationship that steadily inches its way under the viewer's skin.
- Hollywood Reporter
« January 2020 » loading...
M T W T F S S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Tue 28

Optical Printer One on One Workshop Sessions

Appointment Based One on One Session
Tue 28

Uncut Gems

Sun, Jan 19 / 9 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 9:15 pm
Mon, Jan 27 / 9 pm
Sun, Feb 2 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 3 / 7 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Feb 9 / 12 pm
Mon, Feb 10 / 9 pm
Wed 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Heater

Tue, Jan 7 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 14 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 21 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 28 / 7 pm
Wed 29

Restoration Tuesdays: Quartet

Tue, Jan 7 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 14 / 9 pm
Tue, Jan 21 / 7 pm
Tue, Jan 28 / 9 pm
Thu 30

Canada’s Top Ten: Murmur

Thu & Fri, Jan 23 & 24 / 7 pm
Sat, Jan 25 / 2:30 pm
Sun, Jan 26 / 5 pm
Wed, Jan 29 / 7 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact