Special Events

Architecture+Film: Push

New World Documentaries
Special Events
Architecture+Film: Push
Fri, Sep 20 / 7 pm
Around the world, housing prices are soaring past income levels and the cost of living. This groundbreaking film follows Leilani Farha, newly appointed UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Housing, in her fight to define affordable housing as a …

Nuit Blanche: Millennimania 2000s Sing-Along!

Special Events
Nuit Blanche: Millennimania 2000s Sing-Along!
Sat, Sept 28 / 8 pm - 1 am
Hey millennials! What’s nu? Come on down to Cinematheque this Nuit Blanche where every hour on the hour, we’ll be pumpin’ the best and worst hits from the naughty aughties, with lyrics on the screen so you can sing-along! Coinciding …

Aurora Gorealis: Happy Birthday to Me

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Aurora Gorealis: Happy Birthday to Me
Wed, Oct 9 / 7 pm
Fri, Oct 18 / 9 pm
Popular high school senior Virginia Wainwright survives a freak accident, but suffers from memory loss and traumatic blackouts. As she attempts to resume a normal life, something terrible is happening - her friends are being ruthlessly murdered one by one. Will she be the next victim or is she the killer?

Aurora Gorealis: The Gate

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Aurora Gorealis: The Gate
Fri, Oct 11 / 7 pm
Sat, Oct 12 / 5 pm
Sat, Oct 26 / 7 pm
When Al and Glenn’s parents leave town for the weekend, Al uses the opportunity to throw a party while little brother Glenn and his friend Terry decide to explore a hole in the backyard. When unexplainable phenomena occur, Terry — with the help of his extensive heavy-metal music collection — comes to the conclusion that he and Glenn have accidentally opened a gateway to hell.

Aurora Gorealis: Dead Ringers

Canadian & International Features
Special Events
Aurora Gorealis: Dead Ringers
Fri, Oct 11 / 9 pm
Sun, Oct 20 / 7 pm
Wed, Oct 23 / 9 pm
In one of David Cronenberg’s best and most disturbing films, the lives of identical twin gynecologists (each played by Jeremy Irons) are disrupted when a beautiful woman (Bujold) enters their lives, throwing their relationship out of balance. Kinky, bloody, and all around gruesome, Dead Ringers is a complex relationship story, an intense psychological drama and a masterpiece of body-horror that puts a deadly spin on hopeless love and loss.
« September 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
Tue 17

Restoration Tuesdays: War and Peace

Part I: Andrei Bolkonsky (147 min w/ brief intermission)
Tue, Sept 3 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Tue, Sept 17 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 12 pm
___________________________________
Part II: Natasha Rostova (98 min)
Tue, Sept 3 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Tue, Sept 17 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 3 pm
___________________________________
Part III: The Year 1812 (81 min)
Tue, Sept 10 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Tue, Sept 24 / 1 pm & 7 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 6 pm
___________________________________
Part IV: Pierre Bezukhov (96 min)
Tue, Sept 10 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Tue, Sept 24 / 4 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 29 / 8:30 pm
Tue 17

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Sept 28 & 29 / 3 pm
Tue 17

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Fri, Sept 13 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 14 / 3 pm & 9:30 pm
Sun, Sept 15 / 3 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 9:30 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 3 pm & 9 pm
Sun, Sept 22 / 7 pm
Tue 17

Running Water 3D

Thu, Sept 19 / 7 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 7:30 pm 
Tue 17

Asako I & II

Sat, Sept 14 / 7:30 pm
Wed, Sept 18 / 7 pm
Thu & Fri, Sept 19 & 20 / 9 pm
Sat, Sept 21 / 5 pm
Wed, Sept 25 / 9 pm
Sat & Sun, Sept 28 & 29 / 3 pm

ABOUT US

The Winnipeg Film Group is an artist-run education, production, exhibition and distribution centre committed to promoting the art of cinema.
our location

We’re located in the heart of Winnipeg's historic Exchange District in the Artspace building. We are across the street from Old Market Square at the corner of Arthur Street and Bannatyne - one block west of Main.

The Winnipeg Film Group is located on Treaty 1 Territory and on the ancestral lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene Peoples and in the homeland of the Métis Nation. We offer our respect and gratitude to the traditional caretakers of this land.

contact